CrossFit Open – 16.1

  
Last Friday, I completed the first workout of the 2016 CrossFit Open. For this workout, I had 20 minutes to accumulate as many reps as possible completing the following movements. 

25ft Overhead Walking Lunge @ 65# (each 5’ increment counted as 1 rep)

8 bar facing/bar over burpees

25ft Overhead Walking Lunge

8 chest to bar pullups

 This was the first year that I’ve done the open workout on a Friday night. In the past, I’ve done them on a Saturday or Sunday morning.

 Every year there is a workout that completely demoralizes me. I thought I might be able to hold my own on this one…getting 6ish rounds or so. In the end, I barely got more than 5 rounds (5+5 to be exact. Which means 5 full rounds plus completed the first set of lunges).

 During this workout, I kept a really tight overhead grip (close grip rather than a wide/snatch grip) and my hands started tingling. Eventually, both hands were completely numb and it was travelling up my arms to my shoulders. Similar to how your arms feel when you wake up in the middle of the night, having slept on them… you might be able to move them, but you really can’t control them. This is how I finished the workout. Numb hands and arms. It was a mental fight as much as it was physical. Afterward, I tried to take a drink of water and missed my face….that’s how badly I couldn’t control the arms.

I’ve been working really hard to keep my head right about it and just looking forward to the next workout this weekend. As much as I enjoyed the camaraderie and the atmosphere of everyone competing on Friday night…I think this time I will gauge my energy level a little better too. If I need to do it Saturday morning, more refreshed, I will do so.

  

 

Leave a Reply

