2014 CrossFit Open Rx

There are so many reasons I enjoy doing the Open. Namely, it gives me a goal – a benchmark – a measurement of progress.

While many people will measure themselves against their friends, against other members at their box, or against the elite athletes…. we must not forget that we need to measure against ourselves.

I went into the 2014 Open a mere NINE WEEKS after having the medical “all clear” from my orthopedic surgeon. I was not fully recovered (my timeline was more along the 12 months compared to some who see full recovery in 6 months)…. I thought there would be a WOD that I would not be able to complete. 

You see, in the Open you are not allowed to scale the workout. This is the only time in crossfit that we don’t scale. In order to mark your score on the leaderboard, you must do the workout as prescribed.

Now, here I sit, FIVE Weeks later and I completed EVERY. SINGLE. WORKOUT.  As prescribed. 

It’s not a matter of bragging, or a matter of pride, but simply it is an awesome sense of accomplishment. 

****
 

Ten months ago, I tore my ACL.
Nine months ago, I underwent extensive reconstructive ACL surgery and meniscus repair.  
Eight months ago, I could barely raise my own straight leg. 
Seven months ago, I could not walk down stairs without holding on to the hand rail. 
Six months ago, I struggled to straighten my leg completely. 
Five months ago, I couldn’t walk a quarter mile on the sandy beach without aches and pains. 
Three months ago, I got the “all clear” to do whatever my body was capable of… ……

***
Two months ago, I signed up for the 2014 CrossFit Open.
Yesterday, I completed the 2014 CrossFit Open.  

****

NewImage

Leave a Reply

