Travel day…relax, eat, repeat

Good morning! Buenos Dias!

I’m posting this from my 8th floor balcony, looking out over the Pacific Ocean. This is our fifth time to the Dreams Resort in Puerto Vallarta and I’m easily reminded of why we come back here.

In fact, I noticed something over dinner last night. Back home, people often talk about how they will go to a resort only once. It is not uncommon down here to talk to several couples each day that are on a return trip to this great place.

TRAVEL DAY WEDNESDAY

20131018-091014.jpg

Wednesday we got up at 3:30 am to catch our early-bird international flight. Boarding was supposed to begin at 5:45. After a few hour layover (time to charge the electronics and eat a good meal) in Houston, we were back in the air.

20131018-091055.jpg

Arriving in PV by 2:30….through customs, through the “gauntlet” of people trying to sell you trips/time shares/pretending to be affiliated with your hotel….. And onto the van/taxi. Check-in….and to our room by 4pm.

20131018-091132.jpg

With a few hours left in the day, we unpacked and made ourselves at home. Then we had a meal by the Seaside, trekked out into the ocean (the waves were quite strong) and dipped in the infinity pool. This is our favorite spot on the resort. You will likely see many shots from this locations.

20131018-091225.jpg
Late (930pm) dinner and then we hit the hay.

FIRST FULL DAY

Waking up to our pitch black hotel room (those curtains are amazing), I rolled over and said good morning ago Gregg. He jumped up up and pulled all the curtains back for a full panoramic view. Wall to wall windows…. Just stunning.

20131018-091307.jpg

20131018-091346.jpg

Our morning consisted of an early morning stroll up & down the beach front, an hour of yoga, and breakfast.

After this, I needed to take it easy and ice my knee. I contacted a few friends and family members….trying to unwind from work. I recently got a blackberry for work, and I feel like I “should” check-in with the office. This is my own applied stress….and I need to ignore it.

While Gregg hit up the gym, I lounged on a chair in the sand. Just a few feet from the crashing waves. I didn’t go back into the salty water today… It hurt my knee a little last time (notice the red flag) and made me nervous for my knee. From my cabana I bounced back and forth from sun to shade… Being very diligent with the sunscreen.

20131018-091423.jpg

20131018-091551.jpg

Afternoon in the big pool, with the swim up bar, some ping pong action, and then more relaxing sunsets at the infinity pool.

20131018-091542.jpg

This will be what most of my days consist of… For the next week or so. I’ll post pictures along the way, and comment when we deviate from plan.

20131018-091721.jpg<br

Oh, last night we had dinner at Oceana. Saw a little kitten begging for food. Gregg, the dog cat whisperer snuck some bread out in his pocket and feed the kitty. />
20131018-091734.jpg

Leave a Reply

