Labor Day Weekend in Colorado

I spent much of the past few days enjoying family time and a little R&R. Relaxing so much that I didn’t blog at all…but I did take lots of pictures! So, let’s document how the rest of my trip to Colorado went…

Friday – Mom and I headed to the southern side of downtown Denver to introduce me to IKEA. It took us nearly three hours to explore the store. That’s including lunch with the Swedish Meatballs! The place was huge and had so many wonderful (favorably priced) items. I decided it was a good thing that I didn’t have much room in my suitcase… so I left empty handed.

IMG 4499IMG 4496

Friday night, I was supposed to meet up with my sis for sushi and martinis. In an unfortunate turn of events (medical issues) she and I were unable to meet up. So I had dinner at home with the parents…and we rented the movie MUD. It was pretty good. Oh, and speaking of good… i made “faux-taros” (cali-flower potatoes) and they were a big hit. I added some dried chives to them… *muah – delish!*

 

Saturday was a jam packed day. Mom and I got up “early” to uphold the pedicure tradition. And this time we also got manicures. It was the first time that mom had a professional manicure… I think she liked it 🙂

IMG 4527IMG 4528IMG 4531

After nail salon we headed to my 9 yr old nephew’s football game. This is only his second year of playing…and oh my gosh is he good. He plays both offense and defense and just towers over the other kids.

IMG 4532

Late Lunch/Early Dinner at Hacienda (everything is made from scratch) was later followed by an energized game of Twisted Farkel. My mom and I have played Spicy Farkel before… I don’t know what it is but something about that game gets us all wound up! A saturday night run to DQ and a dip in the hot tub capped off a wonderful Saturday!

IMG 4537

Sunday we headed up into the mountains for some paintball action. Mom and Dad enjoy playing WoodsBall (dressed in camo and shoot each other)… but I am in no shape to do that right now (still recovering from the knee). But it was a lot of fun shooting at the trees and rocks! Although it was cut short by random afternoon showers… we made a couple stops in some good clearings.  

IMG 4543IMG 4559Bonnie kris 3IMG 4542

IMG 4560

Visiting Moffat Tunnel and watching the trains come & go through a 7mile under-mountain tunnel was pretty impressive. After the trains go through, these huge exhaust fans blow all the fumes out. You can hear the fans through the whole valley.

IMG 4567

Sunday night Gregg came home from his adventures. I was awful glad to see him. He was tired, sore, cold, and hungry. But he had a wonderful time.

IMG 4576

Monday included a quick trip to REI. The Denver store must be one of it’s flagship stores because it was monstrous. I didn’t enjoy it as much as I normally would.. my knee was really starting to cause me problems. I think all the walking finally catching up with me.

Monday afternoon was family BBQ. My sis was still sick, so her and her son weren’t there. But my brother, his wife, and their three kids were there. Funny, I took pictures of the silliest things every other day, but didn’t do any on Monday. Probably the day I should have taken the most!! Ah well. My dad took some cool pics… when I see them I’ll share.

Tuesday morning we caught a 6am flight and I was home in time to work almost a full day…and then go to PT at night! It’s been 10 weeks since my surgery. I need to do a knee status… maybe tomorrow. … I am tired and going to bed now.

Leave a Reply

