Two Things I Learned

I learned two things at the box tonight….

#1 – Grip Strength is so vitally important. It helps when you’re pulling heavy weight off the ground (i.e. Cleans, Deadlifts, Snatches, etc) or when you’re dangling from the pull-up bar trying to eek out that last kip and definitely when you’re dangling 14′ off the ground and you need to get one last mini-pull to touch the 15′ tape on the rope.

IMG 3788

Tonight’s WOD will leave me unable to hold any small objects, like pencils or forks, tomorrow. I’m almost certain of it. 

Kettlebell Swings (26)

50-40-30-20-10

Rope Climbs (scaled)

1-1-2-1.5-1 (last round was 6 pulls from ground)

All told it took me just over 13 minutes but i’m pretty sure my forearms were screaming after the first 40 kettle bell swings. Couple that with the fear I conquer every time I approach the rope (due to my recently healed sprained ankle), I probably scaled tonight’s climbs more than I should have.

OH, and don’t let me forget to mention, my bench press (which i really love). Tonight’s 3×3 looked like this: 100, 110, 115!!! *Rock*

#2 – I am addicted. This ah-ha moment actually hit after the WOD. Each night at 7pm the WOD for the next day posts automatically to our box’s wordpress site (check it out!). Typically I find myself at the 6pm class. And what do I do afterwards?  Stand around and chat with my friends… then look up the next days’ WOD! I’m still sweaty, out of breath, and usually trembling… but I’m ready to see what the next day has in store for me!

There are so many things I dig about CrossFit… 

Pushing myself to new limits

Doing things I’ve never done before

But most of all, it’s the constantly varied aspect. Read more about it here from the CrossFit library.

Screen Shot 2013 02 26 at 8 08 45 PM

 

Leave a Reply

