Mother’s Love

This is me, my mom, my grandma, and my great grandma. 

222905 1955860147044 1558929836 32091219 1777566 n

 

 

Not too many people have the opportunity to capture a 4-generation photo when they are a baby. And I count my blessings that I was able to do it again when I was thirty!

IMG 0102

Words don’t adequately convey how much I love my mom. She raised me as a single-mother. Her hands, and her schedule, were fuller than I can ever fathom. But somehow she did it. She filled our home with love and energy. She has this uncanny ability to give me guidance and advice, let me make my own decisions, and love me regardless. I will be forever grateful for her loving example.

IMG 2218MeIMG 0060

 

My Grandma Kenna instilled in me a sense of hard work and dedication. She is a fighter (breast cancer survivor!) and she’ll give it to you straight. I remember growing up visiting her at the family store (Comal Saddlery) and she was always busy. Her hands could shape a cowboy hat, create beautiful stained glass designs, and lovingly care for her garden, animals, and grandchildren.

IMG 0087

My Great-Grandma must have taught my Grandma all these things too. At 90+ years old my Great Grandma probably has a better memory than I do. She is my great grandma from pure genealogy perspective… however, she truly deserves the title of “Great”. When I was a little girl, I would go to her house every morning to eat breakfast, watch cartoons, and catch the bus. She was patient and let all us kids have our fun. I remember fondly of me and my cousins sliding down the banisters over and over. Thanksgivings always meant a house full, and i mean FULL (40-50 people maybe?), of family and love. 

Grandma2Kris and grandma

 

 

 

And I would be remiss if I didn’t count my blessings for my Grandma on dad’s side. She gave me the gift of music. Literally. A piano at age 5 and weekly piano lessons for the next 8 years. That piano still sits in my house today. Even though my parents divorced when I was very young, my grandma remained a vital part of my life. And I know that her spirit, love of music, and gifted intellect has lived with ever since.

IMG 0031IMG 0058

 

 

Finally, to all my aunts, cousins, and friends … All Mothers Everywhere… you all do an amazing job. I know it is not always easy. I know there are times you make sacrifices that no one else knows. Thank you.

 

 
3 thoughts on “Mother’s Love

  1. This is beautiful, Kris! It made me cry.
    We are so fortunate to have such AMAZING women in our family to look up to!
    Thank you for writing this. I’ll be sure to share with Grandma next time I see her.
    Love you!

    PS- I’m so excited to have a new blog to read! 😀

  2. Kristin, I’m so very grateful to call you my granddaughter. There are four of you girls and you are all so special, each in your own way. Plus the 2 grandsons and the great-grandbabies and all the inlaws and even the outlaws! How could I have been so blessed? This whole family is so amazing that it’s hard to comprehend the talents and beauty and abilities we all share.It makes me feel so happy that you feel like i’ve been a positive factor in your life – as all of you have been in mine. I couldn’t have made it without the help and love and support of all of you. My parents and brothers & sisters
    have always been so loving and supportive; I hope I’ve been able to pass just a little of that on to you younger generations…
    Love you always,
    Gramma Kenna

Leave a Reply

