Super Quinoa

WEll, we finally made it to Friday! This week has felt impossibly long with not much excitement to report. Not from me at least. The hubby has had a wild week: he met the First Lady, spoke at his high school alma mater, and now he’s out in Santa Monica enjoying the Cali lifestyle! I’m thinking it would make a much more interesting blog if he wrote it!

Tonight I had a crappy run. After a long day of work I came home and was looking forward to a quick run.

I must have been a little too excited, because I did not adequately prepare. I did not fuel right. I did not warm up. I did not dress warm enough!

So, I ended up doing just a quickie 2-miler

I thought about pushing through but I have 10 miles to do this weekend and didn’t want to do any damage tonight.

Oh, I almost forgot to mention a new recipe I tried last night.  I finally tried quinoa!

It was on the back of the quinoa bag (slightly modified of items I already had around the house)

1 cup quinoa

1 red bell pepper

1 can corn

1 can black beans

several dashes of cilantro

cumin

chicken breast

I don’t know what I liked about it better… how easy it was or how yummy it was! And left overs were an added bonus!Super Quinoa

 

Want to know more about Quinoa *pronounced KEEN-wah*

  • Some call it a “Supergrain”–although it is not really a grain, but the seed of a leafy plant that’s distantly related to spinach.
  • Excellent source for protein and unlike other grains, is not missing the amino acid lysine, so the protein is more complete (a trait it shares with other “non-true” grains such as buckwheat and amaranth).
  • The World Health Organization has rated the quality of protein in quinoa at least equivalent to that in milk.
  • It offers more iron than other grains and contains high levels of potassium and riboflavin, as well as other B vitamins: B6, niacin, and thiamin. It is also a good source of magnesium, zinc, copper, and manganese, and has some folate (folic acid).
  • It is gluten free, which makes it a great alternative to grains for people with gluten sensitivity.

 

Oh, and did I mention it’s tasty too?!

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

