Mood Enhancer

Yesterday was a really difficult day at work. While a lot of the issues that were going on were not new… every issue, every person, every thing was grating on my last nerve. Honestly, it was one of those days where I easily dropped the “I hate this place” statement and didn’t feel bad or guilty.

I knew I needed a mood enhancer. An attitude adjustment. A more positive outlook. So, at 3:30pm I went to the vending machine… surprisingly none of these things were in that monster machine. All my favorites were in there: Peanut M&Ms, Snickers, Pretzel M&Ms…  I knew this would not bring me the inner peace that I needed. So I walked on. Granted, I did stop for a Diet Coke — caffeine was becoming a necessity.

On the way home, I stopped at my gym.

I plugged in my favorite playlist and hopped on the treadmill. Thirty minutes and three miles later I could feel my mood improving. After another twenty minutes and a slight glow from the tanning bed, I had all the endorphins I needed!!

Going to bed I gave myself the mental pep-talk to approach today with a better attitude. It worked! Same ol’ nonsense and 6 of 8 hours filled with meetings… but I still walked out of there smiling today.

 

 

Leave a Reply

