Trying Something New

I’ll admit it, I enjoy trying new things… especially as they relate to health & fitness. On the other hand, I don’t always hold a long-term commitment to these new practices. Case in point, every year at work I participate in a “On the Move” challenge. When you sign up you get a free pedometer and you set a goal for yourself — how many steps (or equivalent steps) you can log everyday for 40 days. I’m trying to motivate my co-workers to participate with me and now that they’ve signed up we have all set our goals. Most of us are going for 10,000 steps a day. Considering I got around 7,500/day for the first week (without working out) I’m going to have to up the ante!

I did take nearly two weeks off from working out (after the Red Cross Incident of 2011). My arm is not yet better but I’m trying to manage through the pain. I know that if I start working out again that I will just feel better overall. So today, I was back to pounding the pavement.  Nearly 3 miles outside, just over 35 mins. Not the speediest and I was definitely huffing and puffing and sweating all over. But it felt so good to be back to it!

Love my Nike+

In order to get 10,000 equivelant steps per day I’m going to have to be very dilligent about working out. I’m our team captain so I’ve gotta be great! set a good example.

There’s one other new thing I’ll be incorporating into my daily life.  My mother-in-law gave me her Weight Watchers book & calculator (to hold on to for a little while). I’ve never tried WW and most reviews I’ve heard have been positive. So, I thought, what the hell, I’ll give it a shot.  I’m allowed 29pts per day. Here it is 3:30pm and I only have 10 pts to go. This could be tricky. However, given that veggies & fruits are virtually point free… I may be encouraged to fill up on them! (I highly doubt last nights’ Ted Drewes’ frozen custard is anywhere in this book!)

One thought on “Trying Something New

  1. Pingback: Change is Inevitable « Life of This

Leave a Reply

